TRU Announces HOF Class of 2018

The Texas Rugby Union Hall of Fame will welcome nine new members to its ranks at its August 25 induction banquet in Houston.  Those selected are a good mix of great players, administrators, referees, pioneers and the first Father/Son inductees.  After an intense review period, development of the final ballot from those nominated, spirited discussion and very tight voting from top to bottom, the Class of 2018 members elected are:

Ed Brown, Houston Rugby Club, TRU Selects (Captain), Western USA Selects, former Rice coach, currently a coach at Cy-Fair HS.

Mike Geach, former player/coach in Houston and Dallas, USA “A” Panel referee, USA and Texas referee association leader, and national referee evaluator.

La Thaddeus Hill, Sr., Fort Worth RFC, Dallas RFC, over sixty USA 7s caps, Texas and Western USA Selects (7s and XVs), USA Defensive 7s Player of the Year, 1995.

Andrew Locke, St. Thomas HS, West Point.  USA U-19s (World Cup), Collegiate All American, USA All Military (player and coach), USA 7s and XVs player pool, USA 7s ass’t coach, Assistant USA Women’s Team coach at Rio Olympics.

Lowell Locke, Houston Old Boys Rugby Club, TRU President (six years), founder of Houston area junior high program, coach at St. Ambrose Middle School, assistant at St. Thomas HS, coach at Westside HS, coach and program director at St. Pius X HS.

Dr. Julia “Jules” McCoy, two-time USA Women’s 7s Head Coach (Rugby World Cup medalists), coach of Little Rock RFC men’s and women’s programs (7s and XVs), founder of ARPTC national championship 7s team.  Noted neurosurgeon.

Kirk Tate, Austin Huns RFC, Austin RFC, current TRU president.  Coaching stints at UT, San Marcos, and just named coach of St. Edwards University.

Bill “Dynamo” Taute, Austin RFC (president), Texas A&M, Houston Old Boys RFC.  Western USA Selects (five years), TRU Selects (10 years), youth coach.  Won gold medal with USA at 1985 World Maccabiah games (Man of the Match against South Africa in final, Team USA MVP).

Ron Watson, Dallas Harlequins, Fort Worth RFC, Hawaii Harlequins, President of Hawaii RFU, Weatherford HS (National Champions), long time TRU officer.  Member of the USA Rugby Congress.

In addition to these inductees, the other outstanding candidates on the final ballot were Bob Fleet (SFA, deceased), Nick Marketos (Plano, deceased), Stewart Morris (Houston), Ryche Parker (Houston Heathens, deceased), and Brett Taylor (Dallas Harlequins). The Hall of Fame voters would like to thank all the nominators, candidates and supporters of each person nominated this year (including those not named above).

The current members of the Hall of Fame are: Gandolf Burrus, David Chambers, Chris Chefchis, Chuck Erhardt (deceased), Lee Garner (deceased), Dave Jenkins, Jeff Kolberg, Robert Latham, Paul Mabry, Tracy Moens, Al Niece, Ian Nixon, Richard Prim, Carlos Puentes, Alan Sharpley, Nelson Spencer, Gail Borden Tennant, Jim Wolfinger, Bill Woodfin, and Barry Waite.